“A Moment Of Silence” For The Last Day Of Autumn

With Autumn officially coming to an end I thought I would share one of my favorite images from October, titled “A Moment Of Silence”, and the planning that went into this image. 

For those of you unfamiliar with the Adirondacks this photograph was taken at Chapel Pond in the Keene Valley on a very calm and peaceful morning. Being very acquainted with this area I knew the composition that I wanted to capture even before I arrived at the pond. This, as you will soon find out, was just the beginning step in the planning phase that ultimately made this image a success..

As part of the process I used The Photographer’s Ephemeris (http://photoephemeris.com/), a very useful program that determines how the light will fall on the land, and realized at that particular time of year the early morning light would be coming in through the valley and effectively sidelighting the pond and hopefully the birch trees along the shore. I also checked weather forecasts leading up to my visit for two reasons: (1.) to be sure the sky would be clear enough for the sunlight to penetrate the valley, and (2.) to make sure wind would not be an issue since I wanted a nice reflection.

The next thing I needed to do was make sure the fall colors at the pond were at their peak. Instead of leaving it to chance I decided to take a drive up to the Keene Valley the day before my scheduled shoot to check on the leaves. I had gone hiking in the area a week before and had an idea of the progression of colors already.

The next morning I awoke and looked outside to see the stars shining like diamonds in the sky. I started my old Jeep and hit the road to make the hour-long drive to the pond and still have enough time to set up before the sun rose over the mountains.

When I got to my destination I was incredibly relieved to see the water reflecting the colors of autumn like a giant mirror.  I quickly unpacked my gear and walked down to the edge of the pond, knowing that the wind could come at any time and ruin this perfect moment. But the wind never came. Just as the sun broke over the mountains some high clouds came in and diffused the light a bit. I ended up using four vertical frames, shot in succession, to create this final image. Hope you like it!:)

“A Moment Of Silence” – TECH SPECS: 1/13 Sec. @ f/8, ISO 200, Polarizer, 4 Vertical Frames Stitched (Click to View Larger)
One thought on ““A Moment Of Silence” For The Last Day Of Autumn

Leave a Reply

